Stepping Outside of the Box

Posted on October 12, 2011

1


I like to think of our minds as a series of boxes with openings for expansion.  I can stay contained within the confines of one small box or I can step through that box to an even larger one, but still remain relatively “safe” within the confines or safety of the new box. I think that’s how children learn and grow.

When we reach “adulthood”, some of us tend to find a box that feels comfortable and stay in that place for a really long time!

I’ve always stepped into new boxes, but I can now see that I too would settle into a new box and become very complacent for long stretches of time.  I’ve come to recognize that I need time to settle into my new box.  I’d step in and then have to sit back and get to know the person in that new box.  It wasn’t a conscious act, but now I can see why I overstayed my welcome in the past.

Thankfully, I’ve come to understand that there are many boxes that I have yet to open.  I’m starting to get a sense of the whole – that realization (that knowing) that my potential IS unlimited!  I can see that I owe it to myself to step into and through as many boxes as possible.

Real expansion comes when we keep moving into new boxes by allowing more knowledge, wisdom and experiences in.

It doesn’t matter how big or small the current box is. There is potential for growth in every box.  Every box provides an opportunity to see it for what it really is.  It can offer comfort, confinement, safety, familiarity, curiosity, encouragement, creativity, happiness or sadness.

For me, what really matters is the number of boxes I choose to walk through. I’m currently asking myself how many boxes can I get in and out of with relative ease and comfort?  I need to see for myself how far I can go and how big I can be.

We are all so much bigger than what we allow ourselves to be.  There are those that attain a much larger understanding of it all, but the majority go through life completely unaware.

They let life lead them.

I haven’t always made conscious decisions, and I’ve “followed the pack” at times.  I used to feel as though I couldn’t move forward unless there were others coming along as well.  I didn’t want to step outside the tribe.  I didn’t want to stand out in anyway.  I wanted to be like everybody else.

I am over that crap and that need no longer exists for me.  I’m here having my life experience and if that means leaving others (along with all the other shitty stuff) “behind”, then so be it.  I want to move with those who are moving.  I want to interact with people that are continuously stepping through new boxes and consciously learning what it truly means to be having a life experience.

I only get to be me once.  I owe it to myself to make the most of this blessing I’ve been given.

The me that I AM dwells in all boxes.

Posted in: Uncategorized