Moving Forward

Posted on October 16, 2011

0


I’ve come to understand that with or without awareness, whether I feel like I’m going around in circles, taking a step back, or even standing still, I’m always moving forward.

I’ve recognized that during those times when I was completely unaware, life was leading me into situations that were meant to ignite my awareness.

With awareness, every step, in any directions, is still moving me forward.  It doesn’t matter if that step feels like a misstep or a repeat.  It doesn’t matter if I end up back at square one, I’ve still moved forward.

It’s never obvious in the moment, it’s only in retrospection, that forward movement becomes apparent.

That’s where words like faith and trust come into play.  Those are words I’ve had difficulty with in the past.  I say I believe, but then the shit kicks in and I think, yeah I believe it happens, but I’m not sure it will happen for me.

Sometimes it’s really hard to believe that I am making progress of any kind.  It can be really frustrating and that’s when “giving up” becomes appealing.  It’s the path of least resistance.  That’s when the shit wins!  That’s when I add a little bit more to the “well I tried” pile.

Now, I recognize that my frustration is an opportunity, which if taken, will move me forward.

The universe needs our participation in order to do what it does.  It requires faith and trust in the unknown, the unseen, the blankness.  AND, most importantly, it requires action.

I just need to know and trust that as long as I am focused and taking steps of any kind, I am always moving towards something bigger and better than what I am leaving behind.

There is always activity going on behind the invisible curtain, and it’s meant to propel me forward.  It’s helping me attain the things I am focused on attaining.

There isn’t a need for me to figure it all out, to control it all.  In fact, the act of trying to control it all, contributes to those missteps.  Worrying about it generates delays and cancellations.  And, if I want it to look exactly how I want it to look, I’m limiting the universe.

There is much I may never understand, but I do know that there are always guides put on my path to keep me moving.  Those guides are meant to show me something about myself.  Sometimes it’s a means to help me see some aspect of the shit I’ve been carrying around.  At other times, they help clarify a chosen path, or set me on a new path.

I’ve learned that teachers come in many forms.

I know that I am never faced with a situation that isn’t what I wanted.  I know that I unconsciously created it, and I also know that I can use that to push me forward as well.  Those situations are the catalyst that gets me moving in the right direction.  When something I didn’t want comes into my life, I’m starting to understand that it still serves a purpose.  It could be what the universe requires in order to put me in a place or situation that will bring what I’m looking for.  So I’m learning not to view those situations negatively because if they put me back on the right path, I’m still moving in the “right” direction.

There are many twists, turns and bends in the road of life.  So if I end up in a place that I’ve already been, there’s a reason, and I’ve still moved forward.  With awareness, I’ve reached a new plateau.

Faith and trust will get me there.  Knowing that, I can enjoy all the steps along the way.  I can enjoy what has been given to me knowing that it is as it should be.

The me that I am is always moving forward.  How far and how fast depends on my knowing and acceptance of this.

Posted in: Uncategorized